Show members' view

“One of the very best amateur groups in the country”

Classical Music Magazine

“The most professional-sounding of non-professional orchestras”

The Sunday Telegraph

“Kensington Symphony Orchestra once again scores over most professional orchestras”

Classical Source

Michael Seal

Michael Seal

Coming up

Bernstein, Korngold and Shostakovich with Michael Seal
Saturday 14 March 2020 at 7.30pm
With guest conductor Michael Seal

Violin: Stephen Bryant

Mahler 3 at Fairfield Halls
Sunday 3 May 2020 at 7.00pm
Mezzo soprano: Helen Charlston
Chorus: The Epiphoni Consort

Welcome to KSO

Bernstein, Korngold and Shostakovich - book tickets for our concert on 14 March HERE

About Kensington Symphony Orchestra

In over 60 years of music-making, Kensington Symphony Orchestra has built an enviable reputation as one of the UK’s most accomplished and adventurous non-professional orchestras. Established classics, neglected masterpieces and works by today’s leading composers are hallmarks of KSO’s repertoire, performed with a skill and panache that has garnered praise from all quarters.

Follow Kensington Symphony Orchestra on Twitter

Follow Kensington Symphony Orchestra on Instagram

Like Kensington Symphony Orchestra's Facebook page


We are currently looking for more double bass players to join us for the 2019-20 season. If you are an experienced double bass player and would like to join the section for one or more of this season's concerts, please get in touch with Steph Fleming.

Kensington Symphony Orchestra continues its 64th season at St John's Smith Square on Saturday 14 March

We are delighted to welcome back guest conductor Michael Seal for his third concert with the orchestra.

Bernstein's Candide is an exuberant fusion of European operetta and Broadway musical. The overture bursts with energy and wit, building to an exhilarating climax based on 'Glitter and be Gay', a brilliant pastiche of every coloratura aria ever composed.

Korngold's gloriously lyrical Violin Concerto of 1945, intended for Jascha Heifetz, marked his post-war return to the concert hall after many years writing for Hollywood. It overflows with Romantic melodies taken from his film scores, all beautifully orchestrated with his trademark combination of subtlety and inventiveness.

Written in 1957 to mark the fortieth anniversary of the October Revolution, Shostakovich's immensely successful Eleventh Symphony engaged both his sense of tragedy and his socialist conscience. At its centre it depicts with graphic realism the massacre of unarmed workmen in 1905. Preceded by a bleak introductory movement which sets the scene, it is followed by a haunting elegy for the dead and a final expression of revolutionary fervour.

I hope you can join us on 14 March as we continue our exciting season of concerts.

Russell Keable
Music Director