Show members' view

“One of the very best amateur groups in the country”

Classical Music Magazine

“The most professional-sounding of non-professional orchestras”

The Sunday Telegraph

“Kensington Symphony Orchestra once again scores over most professional orchestras”

Classical Source

Igor Stravinsky

Igor Stravinsky

7.30pm, Monday 15 October 2012
St John's Smith Square

Conductor: Russell Keable

Overture: Benvenuto Cellini
Three Pieces for Orchestra
The Firebird (Complete Ballet)

We start our 57th season with an overture by Berlioz. His opera Benvenuto Cellini is nowadays very rarely performed, but its overture remains a popular and energetic concert opener. KSO's first performance of a work by Berg follows: his Three Pieces for Orchestra, dedicated "to my teacher and friend Arnold Schoenberg in immeasurable gratitude and love".

We end our concert with the original, full ballet version of Stravinsky's Firebird, based on the legendary Russian creature that is both a blessing and a curse to its captor.


Flyer (JPEG for Facebook)
Flyer (single on A5)